LinkedIn Groups To Become Private: 4 Things You Need To Know About The Change
LinkedIn have announced that starting from the 14th October, all groups on the social network will become private. They hope that the changes they make will improve the quality of using LinkedIn Groups, as well as avoiding spam and self-promotion. Here are four key questions, and answers, about the change:
1. What does private actually mean?
LinkedIn are making all groups private, which means that only group members will be able to see the conversations on the group, and only members will be able to contribute to them.
2. What does this mean for group owners?
Group owners will have to decide whether to make their group an ‘unlisted group’ or a ‘standard group.’ Unlisted means the group will not appear on LinkedIn’s group directory, and only owners/managers of the group can invite and approve members. Standard means the group is more visible; members can invite LinkedIn connections to join the group, and can approve requests too.
3. How will this stop spam?
LinkedIn have improved the filters on the groups in order to single out and remove spam content. In conversations, posts about jobs will also be automatically moved to a separate ‘Jobs’ tab, in order to separate it from the main conversation.
4. What other changes can we expect?
LinkedIn have also added other features in conversations, such as people who start a new conversation will be able to upload an image with it, and members will also be able to @mention other members when starting a conversation or commenting in one.